SYMBIAN OS SECTION
  -My-Symbian.com-
MAEMO  SECTION
-My-Maemo-
MEEGO  SECTION
-My-MeeGo-
SOFTWARE STORECONTACT


My-Symbian.com Forums

 
My-Symbian ~ My-Maemo ~ My-MeeGo
Symbian & Linux based Communicator and Smartphone Info Center
The Oldest Symbian Community Website - Since 1999
 
 Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RulesRules   Log inLog in 
Lightweight, simplified version of the forumsMobile version
CellPhone Space

Go to page
1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    My-Symbian ~ My-Maemo ~ My-MeeGo Forum Index -> Symbian OS UIQ 3.x
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Lisa@CPS
DEVELOPER
DEVELOPER



Joined: 08 Nov 2004

Posts: 1853

Thanks received:
4 in 2 posts
Thanks given: 1

Location: CellPhoneSoft
Phone: Symbian

PostPosted: Thursday, 21.Jun.2007 11:41    Post subject: CellPhone Space   Reply with quote   

We release this small utility, called CellPhone Space, to allow long-pressing the Space key for invoking the phone dialer. The purpose of this free program is to overcome a bug introduced in the P990 R6D23 firmware.

Important: The attached file needs signing with a developer certificate before use. See other threads on this forum about how to do it.

Hint: While the program is intended for the P990, it may be able to add the same feature to other phones having a space key, like the P1 and M600. (We did not test this yet.)

Latest version: 1.10
- Autostart option added.

Update: The P990 firmware R6E28 fixes the space bar bug, so when using that firmware, the CellPhone Space application is not needed any more. In that case, be sure to uninstall it, especially if it was set to autostart.


Last edited by Lisa@CPS on Saturday, 04.Aug.2007 10:10; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
Bajloz
Forum Regular
Forum Regular



Joined: 17 Jan 2007

Posts: 103

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0

Location: London
Phone: n95 8gb

PostPosted: Thursday, 21.Jun.2007 12:38    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

Lisa@CPS,

Works like a charm.

Thanks again
Back to top
Andreas
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 18 Jan 2003

Posts: 238

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: P990i

PostPosted: Thursday, 21.Jun.2007 12:47    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

Lisa, could you elaborate on the nature of the bug and how you solved it? Just of interest, I'm a developer myself too.
Back to top
Lisa@CPS
DEVELOPER
DEVELOPER



Joined: 08 Nov 2004

Posts: 1853

Thanks received:
4 in 2 posts
Thanks given: 1

Location: CellPhoneSoft
Phone: Symbian

PostPosted: Thursday, 21.Jun.2007 13:04    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

The nature of the bug can not be told without seeing the firmware code. The solution was to capture the space key and invoke the phone app's dialer view when a long press is detected. This capture step is the one which is only allowed to signed programs and the same would be used by a generic hotkey application (that we won't write until something is changed around Symbian Signed).
Back to top
hAnDyGUY
Forum Senior
Forum Senior

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 13 Oct 2003

Posts: 794

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0




PostPosted: Thursday, 21.Jun.2007 15:20    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

just wondering if you people @ CPS intend to develop some phones as well, I'l defenatley buy it with my eyes closed knowing that I can expect new firmwares every second day (that's if it had bugs) Wink

Although I didn't remove my flip and won't be using this app, but I'm pleased that this will help others who need Smile

Nice work CPS, and thanks Lisa for the great support.
only if SE can read this post..
Back to top
gango
Forum Elder
Forum Elder



Joined: 01 Feb 2003

Posts: 677

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0

Location: Malaysia
Phone: P910i, P990i

PostPosted: Thursday, 21.Jun.2007 15:22    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

just a question Lisa:

I presume you will have to start this app every time you reboot the phone? any chance this could be incorporated in the SM pro or in another fashion?
Back to top
tirebouchon
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 18 Dec 2006

Posts: 37

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: 990I

PostPosted: Thursday, 21.Jun.2007 15:22    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

Thank's a lot Lisa. Laughing
Back to top
ares
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran



Joined: 08 Jun 2006

Posts: 2937

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0

Location: Portugal
Phone: P1i

PostPosted: Thursday, 21.Jun.2007 15:25    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

if its signed maybe they can add auto-boot??? that would make sense...

by the way Lisa, can´t you release bootman unsigned so we can sign it and have its full capability?? Wink
Back to top
narkoleg
Forum Regular
Forum Regular



Joined: 10 May 2004

Posts: 94

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0

Location: Aalborg, Denmark
Phone: P990i

PostPosted: Thursday, 21.Jun.2007 15:31    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

It works fine right after install but after a reboot it shows a glimpse of the phone program and then jumps back to the previous screen??

Or is it just my phone?
Back to top
hAnDyGUY
Forum Senior
Forum Senior

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 13 Oct 2003

Posts: 794

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0




PostPosted: Thursday, 21.Jun.2007 15:33    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

agree with you ares, believe the unsigned applications are our only hope now to get descent stuff. Rolling Eyes
Back to top
gango
Forum Elder
Forum Elder



Joined: 01 Feb 2003

Posts: 677

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0

Location: Malaysia
Phone: P910i, P990i

PostPosted: Thursday, 21.Jun.2007 15:33    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

did you restart the program again?
Back to top
narkoleg
Forum Regular
Forum Regular



Joined: 10 May 2004

Posts: 94

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0

Location: Aalborg, Denmark
Phone: P990i

PostPosted: Thursday, 21.Jun.2007 16:25    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

no.. I just thought it was unnecessary when I did the signing myself
Back to top
gango
Forum Elder
Forum Elder



Joined: 01 Feb 2003

Posts: 677

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0

Location: Malaysia
Phone: P910i, P990i

PostPosted: Thursday, 21.Jun.2007 17:24    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

You have to manually start the program each time you reboot the phone
Back to top
Lisa@CPS
DEVELOPER
DEVELOPER



Joined: 08 Nov 2004

Posts: 1853

Thanks received:
4 in 2 posts
Thanks given: 1

Location: CellPhoneSoft
Phone: Symbian

PostPosted: Thursday, 21.Jun.2007 17:46    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

Quote:
if its signed maybe they can add auto-boot?
We guessed this will be requested. So, answer is yes, another version is coming soon.

Quote:
can´t you release bootman unsigned so we can sign it and have its full capability?
No, we normally don't do this. CP Space is an exception.
Back to top
mode893
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 10 Nov 2006

Posts: 4

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: P990i

PostPosted: Thursday, 21.Jun.2007 18:02    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

Lisa@CPS wrote:
[...]
No, we normally don't do this. CP Space is an exception.


Sounds like some unwritten agreement was made here. As always, SE would have you guys at CPS cover their trail of mess they made. They're such a bunch of wusses hiding behind the real muscle. Typical


Last edited by mode893 on Thursday, 21.Jun.2007 19:34; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    My-Symbian ~ My-Maemo ~ My-MeeGo Forum Index -> Symbian OS UIQ 3.x All times are GMT + 2 Hours

Go to page
1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
View previous topic :: View next topic

Similar Topics on this forum
Topic Author Forum Replies Posted
No new posts Space Bar in Opera artesea Symbian OS UIQ 3.x 4 Wednesday, 20.Aug.2008 22:12 View latest post
No new posts Unable to type space in Opera browser windows on M600 Jamiri Symbian OS UIQ 3.x 0 Sunday, 04.Mar.2007 18:11 View latest post

Posting/discussing/exchanging warez/cracks/serial numbers/links to web sites offering such resources and/or any other illegal content
is FORBIDDEN on this forum and results in an immediate BAN.


Symbian and all Symbian-based marks and logos are trade marks of Symbian Software Limited.
This website is not in any way endorsed or supported by Symbian Software Limited.    (C) 2001 My-Symbian.com All Rights Reserved