SYMBIAN OS SECTION
  -My-Symbian.com-
MAEMO  SECTION
-My-Maemo.com-
MEEGO  SECTION
-My-MeeGo.com-
SOFTWARE STORECONTACT


My-Symbian.com Forums

 
My-Symbian ~ My-Maemo ~ My-MeeGo
Symbian & Linux based Communicator and Smartphone Info Center
The Oldest Symbian Community Website - Since 1999
 
 Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RulesRules   Log inLog in 
Lightweight, simplified version of the forumsMobile version
P990 keyboard language

Go to page
1, 2  Next

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    My-Symbian ~ My-Maemo ~ My-MeeGo Forum Index -> Symbian OS UIQ 3.x
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
brain_damaged!
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 02 Jun 2009

Posts: 7

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: SE P990i

PostPosted: Wednesday, 03.Jun.2009 19:27    Post subject: P990 keyboard language   Reply with quote   

hi to you all Smile)

i recently bouhgt SE P990, phone works fine and all, the only problem is with the qwerty keyboard. phone was in russian, so i downloaded and
installed american english but when I press any key on qwerty it shows
me russian letters(to get an english letter i have to tap 3 times on particular key). i tryed to replace this in text input and all but it cant be done that way.(so I use virtual keyboard when messaging)

can anyone help me, is there some file that i can just replace in phone
system, rather than flashing the phone?
i have all the programs needed, caps switch, swiss manager and other.

ps. sorry for my bad english, i'm from serbia Smile
Back to top
koolezt
Forum Elder
Forum Elder



Joined: 18 Jun 2006

Posts: 680

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0

Location: Nottingham, UK
Phone: motorola a1000, se p990 org=cxc 162036 r6e28 + cda=cda 162007/2 r6e28

PostPosted: Wednesday, 03.Jun.2009 23:27    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

Quote:
i recently bouhgt SE P990, phone works fine and all, the only problem is with ...
is there some ... rather than flashing the phone?
...
i have all the programs needed ...
If you've recently bought the phone, what's the downside to flashing, compared to the upside of eliminating all the old junk, known and unknown, including language?

By the way, what alphabet is printed on the keyboard buttons, English or Russian?
Back to top
brain_damaged!
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 02 Jun 2009

Posts: 7

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: SE P990i

PostPosted: Thursday, 04.Jun.2009 13:01    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

on keyboard is printed russian,but i will replace it soon.
when i bought phone it was already empty(no stuff of previous owner anywhere)

and can someone give me some link and tut how to flash my phone, i tried to google it, but failed
Back to top
koolezt
Forum Elder
Forum Elder



Joined: 18 Jun 2006

Posts: 680

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0

Location: Nottingham, UK
Phone: motorola a1000, se p990 org=cxc 162036 r6e28 + cda=cda 162007/2 r6e28

PostPosted: Friday, 05.Jun.2009 23:53    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

  1. Quote:
    can someone give me some link and tut how to flash my phone
    http://www.sonyericsson.com/cws/support/softwaredownloads/det ailed/updateservice/p990i should get you started.

  2. Seeing as how
    Quote:
    when i bought phone it was already empty
    so there's nothing to lose, we can understand that the answer to
    Quote:
    what's the downside to flashing, compared to the upside of ...?
    is
      not much.
    Right?
Back to top
brain_damaged!
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 02 Jun 2009

Posts: 7

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: SE P990i

PostPosted: Saturday, 06.Jun.2009 10:32    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

i will flash it and tell how it worked.
I already installed walkman and some other cool things on it, new graphics and stuff... Sad

and I only have 256 mb ram on my computer, will it work properly?
__________________________

i did the flashing, but keyboard is still on russian :S:S:S

i really dunno what to do now
Back to top
koolezt
Forum Elder
Forum Elder



Joined: 18 Jun 2006

Posts: 680

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0

Location: Nottingham, UK
Phone: motorola a1000, se p990 org=cxc 162036 r6e28 + cda=cda 162007/2 r6e28

PostPosted: Saturday, 06.Jun.2009 22:00    Post subject: one debrand coming up?   Reply with quote   

Does Control Panel ► Other ► Select language help? If not, you may need to debrand the phone to Generic World.
    For starters:
  1. In Main Menu ► System Information, find the CDA version.
  2. Lookup that version in this firmware cross-reference to see if yours is a Generic World one. I'm betting it's not.
  3. Unless it is, you should debrand the phone to Generic World.
I've never done it, so I'm not familiar with the details. Search for debrand p990 in this forum or just go to P990: how to change CDA !.

Enjoy yourself.
Back to top
brain_damaged!
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 02 Jun 2009

Posts: 7

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: SE P990i

PostPosted: Sunday, 07.Jun.2009 11:25    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

thank you so much, i will try to do that Smile)
Back to top
brain_damaged!
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 02 Jun 2009

Posts: 7

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: SE P990i

PostPosted: Tuesday, 23.Jun.2009 17:07    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

i didn't have time before to do this, until now when my school is over. my CDA is 162007/1 R6E28 and according to that link you gave me on wikipedia
it is generic world 1
here are screenshots from my phone


Last edited by brain_damaged! on Wednesday, 24.Jun.2009 10:26; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
FOXIK
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 21 Nov 2007

Posts: 2

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: SE M600i

PostPosted: Tuesday, 23.Jun.2009 23:04    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

Arrow http://translate.google.com/translate?prev=hp&hl=pl&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww .uiq3.eu%2Fviewtopic.php%3Ft%3D7104&sl=pl&tl=en&swap=1

Arrow http://www.esato.com/board/viewtopic.php?topic=97323

I think it will be helpful Wink
Back to top
koolezt
Forum Elder
Forum Elder



Joined: 18 Jun 2006

Posts: 680

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0

Location: Nottingham, UK
Phone: motorola a1000, se p990 org=cxc 162036 r6e28 + cda=cda 162007/2 r6e28

PostPosted: Wednesday, 24.Jun.2009 04:58    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

So we're sure the firmware is the up-to-date most generic one.

Did Control Panel ► Other ► Select language help? I seem to recall there's a selection available immediately after a reflash, and an option somewhere along the line to delete unused ones. What languages were offered, and what did you choose?
Back to top
brain_damaged!
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 02 Jun 2009

Posts: 7

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: SE P990i

PostPosted: Wednesday, 24.Jun.2009 10:23    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

koolezt wrote:
What languages were offered, and what did you choose?

I have UK english and American English, I used both of them, but the keyboard is still the same

@FOXIK
links you gave me are about qwerty to qwertz on m600 and p1, i have different issues(i need to replace cirilycs characters to english alphabet)
thanks for effort Smile


I'm wondering is there any software (.sis) that changes the keyboard input i didn't found it anywhere

When i use normal keyboard(flip closed mode) I am able to type with english letters, here is the pic of the phone

Back to top
victos
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 01 Oct 2008

Posts: 94

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: SE-W950i

PostPosted: Wednesday, 24.Jun.2009 11:22    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

There are two solutions of the problem:
- replacement of gdfs keyboard script with XS++ app on PC and the right links have been already given above. Plz, do not forget to back up your old gdfs script at first.
- using eM-KeySwitcher app, with possibility to input both English and Cyrillic letters switching them by one key. Unfortunaly this app is on its alpha stage, so it doesn't work without Caps OFF in CapsSwitch.
Back to top
brain_damaged!
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 02 Jun 2009

Posts: 7

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: SE P990i

PostPosted: Wednesday, 24.Jun.2009 16:27    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

victos,

I instaled em-keyswitcher app and it works but characters are not in qwerty order when i pres first 6 buttons i get "jcuken" instead of "qwerty" :S

i have also xs++ i used it earlier with my k550@w610
i will try with that altrough i don't understand much that tut which is translated but I'l give it a try, at least if I mess up i can flash my phone again

thanks guys I appreciate your help Mr. Green Mr. Green Mr. Green
Back to top
victos
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 01 Oct 2008

Posts: 94

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: SE-W950i

PostPosted: Wednesday, 24.Jun.2009 17:53    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

Quote:
but characters are not in qwerty order when i pres first 6 buttons i get "jcuken" instead of "qwerty"

It's possible to change and edit characters in config file. The topic of the author is here http://www.smart-se.ru/forums/index.php?showtopic=6578 , but it's in Russian.
Quote:
at least if I mess up i can flash my phone again

That probably will not help you if something is done in a wrong way, so you should make gdfs back up at first
Back to top
duikeend
My first post!
My first post!

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 12 Jun 2004

Posts: 1

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: SE P990i

PostPosted: Sunday, 22.May.2016 18:02    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

Im looking for a script to change russian to qwerty.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    My-Symbian ~ My-Maemo ~ My-MeeGo Forum Index -> Symbian OS UIQ 3.x All times are GMT + 2 Hours

Go to page
1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
View previous topic :: View next topic

Similar Topics on this forum
Topic Author Forum Replies Posted
No new posts help for language pack m600i xanax Symbian OS UIQ 3.x 0 Wednesday, 20.Jun.2012 23:56 View latest post
No new posts P990 firmware phultberg Symbian OS UIQ 3.x 1 Monday, 09.Jan.2012 12:47 View latest post
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. p990 error on: messaging, Reason code:E32USER-CBase,Rs.no 21 Michal Jerz Symbian OS UIQ 3.x 1 Sunday, 06.Mar.2011 15:13 View latest post
No new posts i can't open my p990 messaging, please help zak.mok Symbian OS UIQ 3.x 9 Wednesday, 02.Mar.2011 22:24 View latest post
No new posts P990 sync error HNaga Symbian OS UIQ 3.x 1 Tuesday, 01.Dec.2009 19:46 View latest post
No new posts TouchScreen no longer responds on my P990!!! tnleeuw Symbian OS UIQ 3.x 9 Monday, 04.May.2009 14:57 View latest post
No new posts Keyboard apps iamstevie Symbian OS UIQ 3.x 6 Friday, 13.Mar.2009 02:48 View latest post
No new posts chinese language monokurobo0 Symbian OS UIQ 3.x 4 Tuesday, 06.Jan.2009 14:25 View latest post
No new posts Yet another new app - x-key, virtual keyboard ares Symbian OS UIQ 3.x 7 Monday, 24.Nov.2008 13:26 View latest post
No new posts p990 WLAN Esock Error Problem nexus6nexus6 Symbian OS UIQ 3.x 3 Friday, 31.Oct.2008 15:41 View latest post

Posting/discussing/exchanging warez/cracks/serial numbers/links to web sites offering such resources and/or any other illegal content
is FORBIDDEN on this forum and results in an immediate BAN.


Symbian and all Symbian-based marks and logos are trade marks of Symbian Software Limited.
This website is not in any way endorsed or supported by Symbian Software Limited.    (C) 2001 My-Symbian.com All Rights Reserved