SYMBIAN OS SECTION
  -My-Symbian.com-
MAEMO  SECTION
-My-Maemo-
MEEGO  SECTION
-My-MeeGo-
SOFTWARE STORECONTACT


My-Symbian.com Forums

 
My-Symbian ~ My-Maemo ~ My-MeeGo
Symbian & Linux based Communicator and Smartphone Info Center
The Oldest Symbian Community Website - Since 1999
 
 Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RulesRules   Log inLog in 
Lightweight, simplified version of the forumsMobile version
n900 and skype

Go to page
1, 2  Next

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    My-Symbian ~ My-Maemo ~ My-MeeGo Forum Index -> Maemo 5 Fremantle
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ceroberts75
Site supporter
Site supporter



Joined: 11 Nov 2006

Posts: 2523

Thanks received:
79 in 45 posts
Thanks given: 40

Location: USA
Phone: n9, n900, e90, 5800, e71-1, 9500, 7710, 2660

PostPosted: Thursday, 24.Dec.2009 06:28    Post subject: n900 and skype   Reply with quote   

i created a skype account and then added some contacts that have skype, then added those addresses to my contacts in the n900.

when i try to make a call with the skype address, it gives me the error that i need to have my availablity online.

i created my skype setup and added it to the phone accounts, then enabled it.

i cannot even change any of the setting as it says the same thing.

my understanding is that skype calls are free between skype accounts.

is there something i am missing?
Back to top
ceroberts75
Site supporter
Site supporter



Joined: 11 Nov 2006

Posts: 2523

Thanks received:
79 in 45 posts
Thanks given: 40

Location: USA
Phone: n9, n900, e90, 5800, e71-1, 9500, 7710, 2660

PostPosted: Thursday, 24.Dec.2009 09:21    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

figured it out.


you have to go to the contacts/tap the contacts menu/my information/click on the box beneath your icon to go online.


then it is no problem to make a skype call.

it doesnt even say to do so in the included manual or the online manual you have to dl for the n900.


hjust says you need to be online. but not how to do so. :/
Back to top
jcompagner
Forum Elder
Forum Elder

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 15 Jul 2004

Posts: 420

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0

Location: NL
Phone: P800, 9300, E90

PostPosted: Thursday, 24.Dec.2009 10:55    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

there is a bit faster way for that to go online/offline
just tap on time/connection/battery info area in the desktop and you will get there a Availability button...
Back to top
ceroberts75
Site supporter
Site supporter



Joined: 11 Nov 2006

Posts: 2523

Thanks received:
79 in 45 posts
Thanks given: 40

Location: USA
Phone: n9, n900, e90, 5800, e71-1, 9500, 7710, 2660

PostPosted: Thursday, 24.Dec.2009 11:12    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

yes....just tried. you are right. tx. Wink
Back to top
mthmob
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 14 Dec 2009

Posts: 9

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: n900

PostPosted: Thursday, 24.Dec.2009 11:41    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

Well thats how it is with this phone Smile you have descover all the neat features for your self. The reason the manual dosen't say much about the phone OS features in general is because Maemo is open source, and therefor everything is subject to change any given time.

Maybe in some time they find a hole new way of handling skype in the UI and therefor the Manual would have been incomplete Smile
Back to top
Michal Jerz
Admin/Founder/Owner
Admin/Founder/Owner



Joined: 01 Sep 1999

Posts: 29469

Thanks received:
1098 in 699 posts
Thanks given: 286

Location: Poland
Phone: Jolla, BB Z10, BB Passport, N950, N900, N8, Nexus 4 (Ubuntu Touch), Lumia 920

PostPosted: Thursday, 24.Dec.2009 11:50    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

Quote:

you have descover all the neat features for your self.

Well, I don't think that having to be online for Skype connectivity to work is something to discover Wink It's rather an obvious thing Wink

Besides, if you have a Skype account configured, it always logs in AUTOMATICALLY when you establish ANY internet connection. As soon as I come home and my N900 discovers my WLAN and connects to it, Skype gets automatically logged in, too. And the same for GPRS/3G - once you connect to your operator's access point, Skype account gets connected, too.

But of course when you don't have any Internet connection active you need to activate Skype manually, which will cause your phone connect to the Internet. Or else how you'd suppose to have Skype connected without any Internet connection? Wink

Set your GPRS/3G session to be always on and you'll have Skype active all the time...
Back to top
ceroberts75
Site supporter
Site supporter



Joined: 11 Nov 2006

Posts: 2523

Thanks received:
79 in 45 posts
Thanks given: 40

Location: USA
Phone: n9, n900, e90, 5800, e71-1, 9500, 7710, 2660

PostPosted: Thursday, 24.Dec.2009 19:41    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

i do have it online w/*eg,edge,wifi and i couldnt figure out how to get skype on.

i opened a skype account jjust to try this...so it wasnt obvious for me. and my phopne did not automatically connect me, though it will now so long as i have my setting to connect on.
Back to top
ceroberts75
Site supporter
Site supporter



Joined: 11 Nov 2006

Posts: 2523

Thanks received:
79 in 45 posts
Thanks given: 40

Location: USA
Phone: n9, n900, e90, 5800, e71-1, 9500, 7710, 2660

PostPosted: Wednesday, 07.Jul.2010 05:43    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

i have been trying the skype on my n900 again and with a pc, i am getting 2-way video calling!

this is great....but i cannot figure out how to do it n900 to n900.
Back to top
ceroberts75
Site supporter
Site supporter



Joined: 11 Nov 2006

Posts: 2523

Thanks received:
79 in 45 posts
Thanks given: 40

Location: USA
Phone: n9, n900, e90, 5800, e71-1, 9500, 7710, 2660

PostPosted: Wednesday, 07.Jul.2010 08:28    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

ok...scratch that.


it works easily!

and it works between pc and other n900's.


faster on wifi, then the 3g...will have to wait until i get to a hspa+ area to test on 3.5g.

but it is pretty awesome..easy to do and the picture is just fine.

ip4 only goes to ip4....


n900 vid calls to anywhere in the world on any pc or vid capable phone with skype.
Back to top
ceroberts75
Site supporter
Site supporter



Joined: 11 Nov 2006

Posts: 2523

Thanks received:
79 in 45 posts
Thanks given: 40

Location: USA
Phone: n9, n900, e90, 5800, e71-1, 9500, 7710, 2660

PostPosted: Wednesday, 07.Jul.2010 18:44    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

has anyone tried to do a msn or yahoo vid call?

i do not use either, so no way to test it.
Back to top
Dr. Nitun
Site supporter
Site supporter



Joined: 19 May 2006

Posts: 551

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0

Location: Atlanta, Georgia U.S.A.
Phone: Nokia Lumia 900, iPhone 4s, Blackberry Torch (ugh), Nokia N900, Nokia E71, Nokia N96, Nokia E90, Sony Ericsson P990i, Nokia 9300i, and Nokia 9300

PostPosted: Thursday, 08.Jul.2010 02:56    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

Ceroberts75,

When you are doing a video call via Skype, criously, do you use a headset or do you talk via the speakerphone?
Back to top
ceroberts75
Site supporter
Site supporter



Joined: 11 Nov 2006

Posts: 2523

Thanks received:
79 in 45 posts
Thanks given: 40

Location: USA
Phone: n9, n900, e90, 5800, e71-1, 9500, 7710, 2660

PostPosted: Thursday, 08.Jul.2010 03:11    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

both. works flawlessly on botoh wifi and tmo network!

i actually really like using it to talk to my bride.

funny, i was driving and had people that i didnt even know had skype call me via video and told em i wwas driving...not looking at them of course, but they could see me driving...then it hit them as they were in their cubicle.....i was on a video calll on the road....without wifi or ip4. lmao.

its acgtually pretty cool....lets see how long the wow factor lasts.

should have seen the guy next to me with his droid while i was talking.....one of my kids...who has an e71 asked if a droid can do that....i answered no, a droid cant do that....she asked if an iphone could do that....i said no...an iphone cannot do this....then she asked if her e71 could... lol


the guy was staring but his male ego was shot as he was goking over my shoulder then acted like nothing happened.

lol.
Back to top
Dr. Nitun
Site supporter
Site supporter



Joined: 19 May 2006

Posts: 551

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0

Location: Atlanta, Georgia U.S.A.
Phone: Nokia Lumia 900, iPhone 4s, Blackberry Torch (ugh), Nokia N900, Nokia E71, Nokia N96, Nokia E90, Sony Ericsson P990i, Nokia 9300i, and Nokia 9300

PostPosted: Thursday, 08.Jul.2010 03:22    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

Ceroberts75,

You should have given hope to the E71 user at least (Fring!).

What bluetooth set do you use???? I bought the BH-505 but I use that more for in the house and to make in-house calls or while cooking. I do not use it while driving as it is not too comfy to have earphones/headphones while driving.

I tested it with a buddy of mine whom was on his computer. Works like a charm.
Back to top
Hundikoer
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 02 Mar 2007

Posts: 24

Thanks received:
1 in 1 posts
Thanks given: 0

Location: Estonia
Phone: 9500 -> E90 -> N900 - > E7

PostPosted: Sunday, 11.Jul.2010 15:11    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

My connection is always lost when somebody (or myself) tries to answer.
any idea?
Back to top
Dr. Nitun
Site supporter
Site supporter



Joined: 19 May 2006

Posts: 551

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0

Location: Atlanta, Georgia U.S.A.
Phone: Nokia Lumia 900, iPhone 4s, Blackberry Torch (ugh), Nokia N900, Nokia E71, Nokia N96, Nokia E90, Sony Ericsson P990i, Nokia 9300i, and Nokia 9300

PostPosted: Sunday, 11.Jul.2010 21:31    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

Hundikoer,

I have no idea.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    My-Symbian ~ My-Maemo ~ My-MeeGo Forum Index -> Maemo 5 Fremantle All times are GMT + 2 Hours

Go to page
1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
View previous topic :: View next topic

Similar Topics on this forum
Topic Author Forum Replies Posted
No new posts Switching from N900 to a new Android phone ABCDKE Maemo 5 Fremantle 3 Saturday, 25.May.2013 14:51 View latest post
No new posts opera 12.10.16 on my N900 ok but ... jose6a Maemo 5 Fremantle 0 Monday, 22.Apr.2013 00:08 View latest post
No new posts Dalvik´s VM Myriad Alien Dalvik for Maemo (N900) Michal Jerz Maemo 5 Fremantle 1 Wednesday, 12.Dec.2012 22:15 View latest post
No new posts Install MeeGo on N900 madunix Maemo 5 Fremantle 3 Monday, 07.May.2012 18:46 View latest post
No new posts N900 motherboard jstallard Maemo 5 Fremantle 2 Wednesday, 18.Apr.2012 14:01 View latest post
No new posts the micro usb port came off my n900 ! stubble Maemo 5 Fremantle 12 Monday, 19.Dec.2011 22:51 View latest post
No new posts Run N9 applications on N900 with Nemo Michal Jerz Maemo 5 Fremantle 6 Monday, 21.Nov.2011 23:39 View latest post
No new posts Problem with dialog boxes - N900 margme Maemo 5 Fremantle 2 Thursday, 06.Oct.2011 21:43 View latest post
No new posts User Data Full Error on n900 ceroberts75 Maemo 5 Fremantle 4 Monday, 03.Oct.2011 16:58 View latest post
No new posts OpenXCom WIP port for N900, (X-Com) Remake ronen1kr Maemo 5 Fremantle 0 Sunday, 11.Sep.2011 15:24 View latest post

Posting/discussing/exchanging warez/cracks/serial numbers/links to web sites offering such resources and/or any other illegal content
is FORBIDDEN on this forum and results in an immediate BAN.


Symbian and all Symbian-based marks and logos are trade marks of Symbian Software Limited.
This website is not in any way endorsed or supported by Symbian Software Limited.    (C) 2001 My-Symbian.com All Rights Reserved