SYMBIAN OS SECTION
  -My-Symbian.com-
MAEMO  SECTION
-My-Maemo.com-
MEEGO  SECTION
-My-MeeGo.com-
SOFTWARE STORECONTACT


My-Symbian.com Forums

 
My-Symbian ~ My-Maemo ~ My-MeeGo
Symbian & Linux based Communicator and Smartphone Info Center
The Oldest Symbian Community Website - Since 1999
 
 Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RulesRules   Log inLog in 
Lightweight, simplified version of the forumsMobile version
How to do a hard reset without 5-digit code

Go to page
1, 2  Next

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    My-Symbian ~ My-Maemo ~ My-MeeGo Forum Index -> MeeGo Harmattan
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JuulF
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 10 May 2012

Posts: 7

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: Nokia N9

PostPosted: Thursday, 10.May.2012 13:42    Post subject: How to do a hard reset without 5-digit code   Reply with quote   

I've recently bought a used Nokia N9. I'm very pleased with it, but would like to do a complete reset of the phone in order to completely remove the traces from the former owner. However, this setting is protected by a five-digit security code, and the former owner can't remember this code. Is there a way to completely reset the phone to it's original state without the code?
Back to top
BentL
MODERATOR
MODERATOR

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 24 Oct 2002

Posts: 18634

Thanks received:
482 in 354 posts
Thanks given: 112

Location: Norway
Phone: N9, N900, E90, 9300i, 9300, 9210

PostPosted: Thursday, 10.May.2012 16:37    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

See N9: How to retrieve the forgotten security code?

--
Bent Laursen
Back to top
JuulF
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 10 May 2012

Posts: 7

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: Nokia N9

PostPosted: Friday, 11.May.2012 08:18    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

BentL wrote:
See N9: How to retrieve the forgotten security code?

--
Bent Laursen


I did try this, but couldn't make it work. I installed nss and connectec my phone in 'sync&connect' mode. It seemed, however, that the program couldn't find my phone. Attemptin 'find new device' or 'scan' only produced error messages. Any clues as what to try next?
Back to top
BentL
MODERATOR
MODERATOR

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 24 Oct 2002

Posts: 18634

Thanks received:
482 in 354 posts
Thanks given: 112

Location: Norway
Phone: N9, N900, E90, 9300i, 9300, 9210

PostPosted: Friday, 11.May.2012 09:19    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

You have to install NssPro, which is also linked to on the Nemesis Service Suite (NSS) download page. This version works properly with Windows 7 and will connect to the N9.

--
Bent Laursen
Back to top
JuulF
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 10 May 2012

Posts: 7

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: Nokia N9

PostPosted: Friday, 11.May.2012 10:14    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

BentL wrote:
You have to install NssPro, which is also linked to on the Nemesis Service Suite (NSS) download page. This version works properly with Windows 7 and will connect to the N9.

--
Bent Laursen

I'm on Windows Vista, actually. Does that make a difference? I do have another computer with Ubuntu 12.04 as well, if it's easier on linux...
Back to top
BentL
MODERATOR
MODERATOR

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 24 Oct 2002

Posts: 18634

Thanks received:
482 in 354 posts
Thanks given: 112

Location: Norway
Phone: N9, N900, E90, 9300i, 9300, 9210

PostPosted: Friday, 11.May.2012 10:41    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

Windows 7 is just a newer version of Windows Vista, so you have to use NssPro for Windows Vista also. There is no version for Linux.

--
Bent Laursen
Back to top
JuulF
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 10 May 2012

Posts: 7

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: Nokia N9

PostPosted: Monday, 14.May.2012 20:28    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

BentL wrote:
Windows 7 is just a newer version of Windows Vista, so you have to use NssPro for Windows Vista also. There is no version for Linux.

--
Bent Laursen


OK, so I downoladed Nss pro, plugged in my N9, chose sync&connect-mode, ran NssPRO and... nothing. The program doesn't seem to recognize my handset, giving the following output:
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Checking selection...Supported(USB) interface selected.
Init connection...Phone not found.

Any suggestions as to what to try next?
Back to top
Michal Jerz
Admin/Founder/Owner
Admin/Founder/Owner



Joined: 01 Sep 1999

Posts: 29363

Thanks received:
1088 in 693 posts
Thanks given: 285

Location: Poland
Phone: Jolla, BB Z10, BB Passport, N950, N900, N8, Nexus 4 (Ubuntu Touch), Lumia 920

PostPosted: Tuesday, 15.May.2012 00:07    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

Quote:

The program doesn't seem to recognize my handset

Download and install the latest version of Nokia Cable Connectivity Driver, e.g. from here:

http://europe.nokia.com/support/product-support/cable-drivers/driver-f or-nokia-dke-2-dku-2-ca-42-ca-53-ca-70-ca-101
Back to top
JuulF
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 10 May 2012

Posts: 7

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: Nokia N9

PostPosted: Tuesday, 15.May.2012 22:07    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

Michal Jerz wrote:
[...]

Download and install the latest version of Nokia Cable Connectivity Driver, e.g. from here:

http://europe.nokia.com/support/product-support/cable-drivers/driver-f or-nokia-dke-2-dku-2-ca-42-ca-53-ca-70-ca-101


Hi, thanks for the tip. Unfortunately, I couldn't make it work. I downloaded the drivers and installed them no problem. Afterwards I connected my N9, and the computer gave a message that the device had ben found and installed correctly. Even so, when I ran Nss Pro again, I got the same error message as before, 'Phone not found'.

I'm actually not quite sure if my computer installed the correct Nokia drivers or some default microsoft driver when I plugged in my device, as it installed automatically without any input on my part.

Anyhow, I'm still without my code Sad
Back to top
BentL
MODERATOR
MODERATOR

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 24 Oct 2002

Posts: 18634

Thanks received:
482 in 354 posts
Thanks given: 112

Location: Norway
Phone: N9, N900, E90, 9300i, 9300, 9210

PostPosted: Wednesday, 16.May.2012 08:12    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

JuulF wrote:
Even so, when I ran Nss Pro again, I got the same error message as before, 'Phone not found'.

It could be some process on your N9 that has stopped working properly. What happens if you reboot the phone and then connect again to your PC and start NssPro?

--
Bent Laursen
Back to top
Michal Jerz
Admin/Founder/Owner
Admin/Founder/Owner



Joined: 01 Sep 1999

Posts: 29363

Thanks received:
1088 in 693 posts
Thanks given: 285

Location: Poland
Phone: Jolla, BB Z10, BB Passport, N950, N900, N8, Nexus 4 (Ubuntu Touch), Lumia 920

PostPosted: Wednesday, 16.May.2012 08:28    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

Which version of the application do you have installed. The new NssPro or the older Nemesis Software Suite Beta 1.0.38.15?

I don't have the N9 with me at the moment but I've just checked the new NssPro with the N950 and it was recognized without problems. Using the "User code" button I got the following information:

Possible code: 12345
Wrong try count: 0

... which seems to be correct as I have never altered the standard code (nor in fact have I ever used it).

NssPro can be downloaded from this page:
http://www.genieprojects.co.uk/?file=kop2.php
Back to top
JuulF
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 10 May 2012

Posts: 7

Thanks received:
0 in 0 posts
Thanks given: 0


Phone: Nokia N9

PostPosted: Wednesday, 16.May.2012 15:06    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

Michal Jerz wrote:
Which version of the application do you have installed. The new NssPro or the older Nemesis Software Suite Beta 1.0.38.15?

I don't have the N9 with me at the moment but I've just checked the new NssPro with the N950 and it was recognized without problems. Using the "User code" button I got the following information:

Possible code: 12345
Wrong try count: 0

... which seems to be correct as I have never altered the standard code (nor in fact have I ever used it).

NssPro can be downloaded from this page:
http://www.genieprojects.co.uk/?file=kop2.php


I am actually using Nss Pro (from that same link). N9, as I've come to understand, don't come with at standard code (contrary to earlier Nokia models), I believe it's blank unless you enter something.
Back to top
Michal Jerz
Admin/Founder/Owner
Admin/Founder/Owner



Joined: 01 Sep 1999

Posts: 29363

Thanks received:
1088 in 693 posts
Thanks given: 285

Location: Poland
Phone: Jolla, BB Z10, BB Passport, N950, N900, N8, Nexus 4 (Ubuntu Touch), Lumia 920

PostPosted: Wednesday, 16.May.2012 21:44    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

Quote:

I am actually using Nss Pro (from that same link). N9, as I've come to understand, don't come with at standard code (contrary to earlier Nokia models), I believe it's blank unless you enter something.

I don't think that the N9 is any different than the N950, they're almost identical. And the N950 does show the code in NssPro (the default one), even though I've never set it...

If I don't forget, I'll check it later with the N9.
Back to top
ceroberts75
Site supporter
Site supporter



Joined: 11 Nov 2006

Posts: 2523

Thanks received:
79 in 45 posts
Thanks given: 40

Location: USA
Phone: n9, n900, e90, 5800, e71-1, 9500, 7710, 2660

PostPosted: Thursday, 17.May.2012 17:58    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

if you want to reset it, cant you just flash it?

btw...pro works fine in reading my default code correctly too. i am using a 059j239 black n964gb (converted cyan) Wink
Back to top
SamKB
Site supporter
Site supporter

Please add your avatar!

Joined: 11 Nov 2011

Posts: 627

Thanks received:
65 in 44 posts
Thanks given: 1


Phone: N9

PostPosted: Friday, 18.May.2012 02:06    Post subject:   Reply with quote   

ceroberts75 wrote:
if you want to reset it, cant you just flash it?


No, flashing doesn't touch the memory partition where the security code is stored.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    My-Symbian ~ My-Maemo ~ My-MeeGo Forum Index -> MeeGo Harmattan All times are GMT + 2 Hours

Go to page
1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
View previous topic :: View next topic

Similar Topics on this forum
Topic Author Forum Replies Posted
No new posts N9 breakdown after reset. deixi MeeGo Harmattan 3 Tuesday, 08.Sep.2015 18:39 View latest post
No new posts default security code - N9 ??? jdavis MeeGo Harmattan 0 Saturday, 05.May.2012 04:14 View latest post
No new posts deleting/resetting Security code on N9 when lost lion80 MeeGo Harmattan 27 Tuesday, 22.Nov.2011 12:28 View latest post
No new posts How to know the product code of n9 adc283 MeeGo Harmattan 15 Friday, 04.Nov.2011 11:39 View latest post

Posting/discussing/exchanging warez/cracks/serial numbers/links to web sites offering such resources and/or any other illegal content
is FORBIDDEN on this forum and results in an immediate BAN.


Symbian and all Symbian-based marks and logos are trade marks of Symbian Software Limited.
This website is not in any way endorsed or supported by Symbian Software Limited.    (C) 2001 My-Symbian.com All Rights Reserved